Monday, Sep 28, 2020 | Last Update : 10:23 AM IST

188th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra1339232103001535571 Andhra Pradesh6756746050905708 Tamil Nadu5808085251549313 Karnataka5755664622418582 Uttar Pradesh3870853258885594 Delhi2644502284365147 West Bengal2410592110204665 Odisha201059165432820 Telangana1858331544991100 Bihar175898161510881 Assam167374136712625 Kerala160935111327636 Gujarat1303911105923394 Rajasthan1247301042881412 Haryana1205781012731273 Madhya Pradesh117588932382152 Punjab107096840253134 Chhatisgarh9856566860777 Jharkhand7770964515661 Jammu and Kashmir69832495571105 Uttarakhand4533233642555 Goa3107125071386 Puducherry2548919781494 Tripura2412717464262 Himachal Pradesh136799526152 Chandigarh112128677145 Manipur9791760263 Arunachal Pradesh8649623014 Nagaland5768469311 Meghalaya5158334343 Sikkim2707199431 Mizoram178612880
  Metros   Kolkata  12 Mar 2019  Trinamul Congress will field 10 to 12 new faces in Lok Sabha polls

Trinamul Congress will field 10 to 12 new faces in Lok Sabha polls

Published : Mar 12, 2019, 3:39 am IST
Updated : Mar 12, 2019, 3:39 am IST

The BJP has made steady inroads in Bengal and emerged as the main challenger to the TMC.

Mamata Banerjee
 Mamata Banerjee

Kolkata: At least 10-12 new faces are likely to find a place in the Trinamul Congress candidate list for Lok Sabha polls, party sources said Monday.

The new faces will be fielded from the seats the party had won and also from those it had lost during the 2014 election, they said.


In addition, the party will also evaluate the performance of its sitting MPs, both inside Parliament and outside, before giving them a ticket, the sources said.

“At present, we have 34 MPs and out of them two have been expelled and new candidates will contest from those two constituencies,” a senior TMC leader said.

“We will also pitch in new candidates in two other seats where celebrities are MPs at present. New faces would replace the old candidates, except for a few, in all the eight seats that the party had lost in 2014,” the leader said.

The TMC, which has 34 MPs out of a total of 42 seats in the state, lost two of its lawmakers recently - Soumitra Khan of Bishnupur defected to BJP and Anupam Hazra of Bolpur was expelled for anti-party activities.


It is likely that some of the MPs would not make it to the candidate list as they have not fared well.

However, a final decision on ticket distribution would be taken by the party supremo Mamata Banerjee, the TMC leader said.

“How the person has fared as a public representative and if he or she was able to take up the issues concerning people are very important.

The same applies while distributing tickets to those who lost the last time," he said.

The TMC, which is locked in a bitter political battle with the BJP in the state, is eyeing the two seats the saffron party had won in 2014 — Darjeeling and Asansol.

The BJP has made steady inroads in Bengal and emerged as the main challenger to the TMC. It has set a target of winning 23 seats in the state in the Lok Sabha election scheduled to be held from April 11 to May 19.


Tags: lok sabha polls, trinamul congress, mamata banerjee