Tuesday, Mar 05, 2024 | Last Update : 04:57 PM IST

2019 Lok Sabha election

Pivot of Cong renewal: Inner-party democracy

Sonia Gandhi, back then, did not accept responsibility for the defeat despite the universal law of accountability beginning at the top.

12 Jul 2019 12:23 AM

Rajnath pays tribute to jawans before taking charge of Defence Minister

Singh was allotted the Defence ministry after taking oath as a Union Minister on Thursday.

01 Jun 2019 9:26 AM

Mamata Banerjee 'loses her mind' after LS polls defeat: Dilip Ghosh

Ghosh further added that Banerjee was not able to digest her defeat and is now trying to play divisive politics in the state.

01 Jun 2019 9:18 AM

Mehbooba Mufti congratulates Sitharaman for breaking finance ceiling

Sitharaman took over the charge of the Union minister of finance and corporate affairs at the North Block in New Delhi on Friday.

31 May 2019 8:29 PM

Slump in economic growth and unemployment 2 major challenges: Congress

The number was below the forecast of 6.5 per cent for the March quarter.

31 May 2019 8:16 PM


Jagan Reddy government appoints Gautam Sawang as new DGP of AP police

During 2009-12, he served as a Commissioner for UN Police in Liberia.

31 May 2019 2:31 PM

People chant 'Jai Shri Ram', Mamata Banerjee calls them criminals

Banerjee on Wednesday declined to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

30 May 2019 9:49 PM

Modi sarkar 2.0: Amit Shah sworn-in as Cabinet Minister

Shah was the third in line, after Modi and Rajnath Singh, to take the oath, administered by President Kovind.

30 May 2019 9:23 PM

Modi sarkar 2.0: Maneka Gandhi likely to be pro-tem speaker

Sources said she has been selected to become the pro-tem speaker in the 17th Lok Sabha elections.

30 May 2019 9:10 PM

Modi sarkar 2.0: Narendra Modi takes oath; Shah, Jaishankar join cabinet

57 ministers in the government; 24 cabinet ministers, 9 MoS(I) and 24 MoS to aid the Prime Minister

30 May 2019 7:13 PM


Modi sarkar 2.0: Santosh Gangwar likely to become pro-tem Lok Sabha Speaker

The senior-most MP, irrespective of party, is appointed as the pro-tem Speaker who presides over the first sitting of the parliament.

30 May 2019 3:33 PM

Modi Sarkar 2.0: Eminent personalities from Varanasi to attend Modi's swearing-in

The invitees include musicians, academicians, doctors, priests, industrialists besides the proposers of Modi’s nomination.

30 May 2019 2:10 PM

Modi to meet Jaitley tonight to ask him to reconsider his decision to leave Govt

Jaitley, owing to his health, was not seen at the victory celebrations at the BJP headquarters after the party stormed to power.

29 May 2019 8:51 PM

Cong will analyse reasons behind people electing BJP in Rajasthan: Sachin Pilot

Pilot has asked party leaders and workers to start a mass contact programme across the state to connect with the people.

29 May 2019 7:17 PM

Yogi Adityanath meets newly elected BJP MPs in UP

The chief minister also hosted lunch for them.

29 May 2019 6:41 PM


Sonia Gandhi, Rahul to attend Modi's oath taking ceremony tomorrow

Among the Indian leaders, chief ministers and Opposition leaders have been invited for the ceremony.

29 May 2019 6:01 PM

I am compelled not to attend Modi's oath-taking ceremony: Mamata

Banerjee had on Tuesday confirmed her presence at the ceremony to be held on May 30.

29 May 2019 2:55 PM

Meeting between Karnataka CM, Congress leaders underway

Congress State Chief Dinesh Gundu Rao, Minister DK Shivakumar, Congress leader KC Venugopal are also present in the meeting.

29 May 2019 1:40 PM

Modi-Shah meet to discuss cabinet

The government may include some new faces from states like West Bengal, Telangana and Odisha

29 May 2019 9:27 AM

‘We don’t believe in vote-bank politics but in the people’s politics’

There are still some parties who are based on dynasty politics and play caste-based and vote-bank politics, says Bhupender.

26 May 2019 5:47 AM