Tuesday, Mar 21, 2023 | Last Update : 11:51 PM IST

2019 Lok Sabha election Page-2

BJP regained seats lost in bypolls between 2014-2019

BJP had won only six out of 30 Lok Sabha bypolls held between 2014 and November 2018.

25 May 2019 6:49 PM

Naveen Patnaik's swearing-in-ceremony on May 29

Patnaik has continued his grip over Odisha with his party, BJD, winning 112 Assembly seats in the 147-member House.

25 May 2019 5:15 PM

Make state-centric policies, enhance constructive politics: Stalin to PM Modi

Stalin's comment come as party has expressed disappointment for it felt that it would be dificult for the party to implement their policies.

25 May 2019 4:58 PM

Mahagathbandhan fails in Uttar Pradesh, a new Kairana model emerges

Mahagathbandhan failed to make any significant mark and its only feat was to restrict the NDA to 62.

25 May 2019 2:34 PM

Pragya Thakur's remark on Godse unpalatable to any Indian: Baba Ramdev

Thakur on May 16 stoked controversy by terming Nathuram Godse, the man who assassinated Mahatma Gandhi, as a 'deshbhakt' (patriot).

24 May 2019 9:49 PM


Did not expect this result: Kharge on party's huge LS poll loss

Kharge lost from Gulbarga parliamentary constituency in Karnataka by a margin of 95452 votes against BJP's Dr Umesh G Jadhav.

24 May 2019 9:42 PM

Jaitley may not take a ministerial position; health being primary reason

Jaitley is not keen to hold any ministerial position in the new government and may have conveyed his unwillingness.

24 May 2019 8:20 PM

Union Cabinet passes resolution to dissolve 16th Lok Sabha

It is speculated that the new government under Modi may be sworn-in on May 30.

24 May 2019 6:58 PM

BJP's change in strategy helped it secure Maharashtra

BJP move to replace 6 sitting MPs helped it set the tally of 41 members.

24 May 2019 5:52 PM

Landslide victory for BJP in Arunachal Pradesh assembly polls.

Counting of votes still underway for five assembly constituencies.

24 May 2019 5:00 PM


Muslim numbers in Parliament slightly up, but still far from population share

The Muslim representation in the parliament is less than five per cent whereas the community has 14 per cent share in the population.

24 May 2019 4:17 PM

Hema Malini, Ravi Kishan set for Lok Sabha, other stars fail to shine in UP

Hema Malini retained her Mathura seat by a margin of almost three lakh votes.

24 May 2019 2:53 PM

Lok Sabha done, Stalin’s eyes now on Assembly 2021

DMK will not be able to form government in TN as AlADMK has 123 seats in the Assembly which is above the majority mark.

24 May 2019 2:38 PM

BSP biggest gainer among mahagathbandan constituents in UP

Mayawati benefitted from her partners, bagging as much as 19.26 percent of the votes.

24 May 2019 1:40 PM

Election 2019: Modi addressed 142 rallies, Rahul 145 plus eight pressers

Modi ended the campaign with a speech in Khargone, Madhya Pradesh, on May 17.

22 May 2019 8:10 PM


EC rejects Opposition's demands concerning EVMs

The issue to change the protocol for counting was discussed by the CEC Sunil Arora at his meeting with the other two election commissioners.

22 May 2019 2:20 PM

Exit polls were to boost stock market, disrupt opposition unity: Veerappa Moily

'I don't think there is much difficulty in choosing PM from the opposition,' senior Congress leader said.

22 May 2019 1:17 PM

Jay Panda doesn't discard BJD's possibility of joining NDA

'BJP will keep an open mind if other parties want to join their coalition seeing the national mood,' says Panda

22 May 2019 12:57 PM

'This election was like a pilgrimage for me,' says PM Modi

'PM Modi said the alliance should be further strengthened,' Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar said.

21 May 2019 9:39 PM

EC: Dissent of Election Commissioners will be recorded

The decision was taken at a meeting of the full Commission which was called specifically to take on board the concerns expressed by Lavasa.

21 May 2019 8:30 PM