Sunday, Oct 17, 2021 | Last Update : 08:32 AM IST

book review 2021

Book Review | Why I decided to pen down the story of Rezang La

In 2018, when the thought occurred to me about writing a book on the Rezang La battle, it came to me as an epiphany

16 Sep 2021 1:06 AM

Ambedkar’s Buddha inspires me more than Gandhi’s: Jairam Ramesh

I connect more with Ambedkar’s social revolutionary Buddha than Gandhi’s spiritual teacher, says Jairam Ramesh

13 Sep 2021 6:47 PM

Book Review | Rare and inspiring accounts from the 1971 war theatres

A serious drawback for India is that for over 74 years since its independence, its actual history has not been taught in school

12 Sep 2021 2:32 AM

Book Review | An immigrant’s progress and other scoops from Old Blighty

Did Ronald Reagan really think after seeing Attenborough’s film that Indira Gandhi was the Mahatma’s daughter?

12 Sep 2021 2:30 AM

Book Review | Smell the spirit of Bombay in the margins of these gritty stories

Potkar’s book with its exquisite use of catalogue, language that soothes and stabs, and sharp observations, is a sumptuous read

12 Sep 2021 1:28 AM

ADVERTISEMENT

Book Review | When memory refracts into gripping fiction

It is the story of a 15-year-old bride in 1929 and her 18-year-old great grandson

29 Aug 2021 1:43 AM

Book Review | Finely rendered study of grief offset by predictable politics

The narrative deliciously dips into different times in the characters’ lives, never disrupting the flow

29 Aug 2021 1:27 AM

Book Review | Trippy reverie on Stalinism, sexism, Delhi and death of the soul

It is also an account of how group rights come to impinge on individual freedoms

29 Aug 2021 1:08 AM

A melange of insights that elate and sadden

Sen uses his voice to bring home every atrocity we have wrought on this planet, on ourselves and our lives

18 Jul 2021 2:43 AM

The humour and romance of being in Karuthupuzha

The Oracle of Karuthupuzha has all the elements to make it the perfect book of fiction to ‘escape’ into during a pandemic

18 Jul 2021 1:49 AM

ADVERTISEMENT

Muslims are ‘geographical Hindus’

For dialogue to succeed between Muslims and RSS-oriented Hindus, it is imperative for both sides to admit that there exist misgivings

18 Jul 2021 1:41 AM

Congruity, not clash, of civilisations is at root of Sen’s academic vision

He found distinguished Cambridge economists less concerned about issues like inequality, poverty and exploitation

18 Jul 2021 1:19 AM

Book Review | Free speech, fake news & the Indian press

For the sake of authenticity, the author, a newspaper industry veteran, restricts his scrutiny to the print media

04 Jul 2021 3:31 AM

Book Review | Resurrecting, in mind’s eye, a living Red Fort

While much of the book and its many short sections tend to be somewhat disjointed and faltering, as we approach the end, things change

04 Jul 2021 3:25 AM

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT