Saturday, May 18, 2024 | Last Update : 10:44 PM IST

floor test

Nitish wins vote, Oppn walks out

In the 243-member Bihar Assembly, 129 MLAs voted for the motion of confidence

13 Feb 2024 1:25 AM

MP crisis: Kamal Nath trust vote to be decided by Speaker

These MLAs, including six ministers, have already resigned from the membership and there is no point in coming back at this point

16 Mar 2020 10:36 AM

Maharashtra: Uddhav Thackeray-led govt wins trust vote in Assembly, gets 169 votes

Ahead of the floor test, former chief minister Devendra Fadnavis led a walk out.

30 Nov 2019 3:31 PM

Uddhav to take Maharashtra floor test today, Raut claims support of 170 MLAs

Ahead of the trust vote, Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut expressed confidence of the alliance winning the floor test.

30 Nov 2019 10:44 AM

Uddhav Thackeray-led 'Maha Vikas Aghadi' may face floor test on Saturday

Governor B S Koshyari has asked Thackeray to prove the majority by December 3.

29 Nov 2019 3:08 PM


Speaker key to floor test amid defection threats

The anti-defection law, enacted in 1985 to check the menace of “Aaya Ram, Gaya Ram” culture in Indian politics.

25 Nov 2019 6:31 AM

SC permits 2 Independent K'taka MLAs to withdraw plea for immediate floor test

The apex court expressed displeasure over the senior lawyers not-appearing before it for seeking the withdrawal of the plea.

25 Jul 2019 12:18 PM

2 independent K’taka MLAs move SC seeking floor test be concluded tomorrow before 5pm

Petitioners have submitted that minority government, which does not have confidence of majority, is being allowed to continue in office.

21 Jul 2019 8:02 PM

Mumbai Police allows to K'taka cops to take Cong MLA Shrimant Patil's statement

Earlier in the day, Karnataka Police accompanied by Mumbai Police arrived at St. George Hospital to meet Patil.

19 Jul 2019 3:00 PM

Karnataka assembly adjourned amid din; Guv directs CM to prove majority

BJP alleged the ruling coalition was deliberately prolonging the trust vote to buy time to shore up its numbers and save the government.

18 Jul 2019 8:28 PM


Confident we will win vote of confidence: Former Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah

Kumaraswamy on Friday sought permission for facing a floor test during the ongoing session of the Assembly.

12 Jul 2019 6:41 PM

Sri Lankan Speaker Jayasuriya presses for floor test to resolve political crisis

His remarks come soon after he slammed President Sirisena, saying it was 'anti-democratic' to sack PM Wickremesinghe and suspend Parliament.

08 Nov 2018 11:52 AM

Day after JD(U)-NDA govt wins trust vote, Nitish expands cabinet with 27 ministers

Of the 27 ministers, 14 are from Janata Dal (United) (JD (U)), 12 from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and one from Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

29 Jul 2017 7:44 PM

Day after Nitish wins floor test, Bihar govt to undergo cabinet reshuffle today

16 MLAs from National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and 19 from Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)) to take oath as ministers on Saturday.

29 Jul 2017 1:14 PM

Nitish slams Tejaswi, says won't support one who indulges in corruption

Taking a jibe at RJD- family politics, Nitish said the chair is not for rejoicing power but for serving the people.

28 Jul 2017 2:46 PM


Nitish moves confidence motion in Bihar Assembly to prove majority

Tejashwi Yadav spoke first on the confidence motion and launched a scathing attack against Kumar for dumping the Grand Alliance government.

28 Jul 2017 12:53 PM

TR Zeliang sworn-in as 18th Chief Minister of Nagaland

The governor has asked Zeliang, who claimed to have the support of 47 legislators, to prove his majority by July 22.

19 Jul 2017 5:08 PM

Guv appoints TR Zeliang as Chief Minister, to be sworn in at 3 pm today

The decision was taken by the guv after Shurhozelie Liezietsu and his supporters failed to turn up in Assembly to face floor test.

19 Jul 2017 2:01 PM

Nagaland CM doesn't appear for floor test, House adjourned sine die

Governor P B Acharya had on Tuesday directed Speaker Imtiwapang to summon an emergent special session of assembly at 9.30 am for the CM.

19 Jul 2017 12:02 PM

Goa: CM Parrikar wins trust vote with support of 22 MLAs

Congress had secured 16 votes in the floor test that was mandated by the Supreme Court.

16 Mar 2017 12:28 PM