Saturday, Jun 03, 2023 | Last Update : 12:42 PM IST

Himachal election result 2017

Himachal, Gujarat polls: Clamour over EVMs dies down

The controversy grew so much that even Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti had to assure that there can be no EVM tampering.

19 Dec 2017 7:31 AM

BJP wins Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh Assembly election

Gain of 16 seats in Gujarat gives Rahul Gandhi a shot of credibility.

19 Dec 2017 7:12 AM

Election results: BJP lost seats due to GST and note ban?

Saurashtra and Kutch regions helped the Congress gain in the state and take its tally to 77 from the 2012 total of 61 seats.

19 Dec 2017 4:20 AM

Exit polls off the mark

The BJP is poised to win 99 seats in Gujarat, which is seven more than the 92 needs to form government in the 182-member Assembly.

19 Dec 2017 4:14 AM

Virbhadra Singh and Dhumal: A tale of two captains, their wins and losses

Winning and losing, the two leaders have probably realised, are but two sides of the same curious coin.

19 Dec 2017 3:36 AM


Bengal BJP celebrates party victory in Gujarat, Himachal

Ghosh said Bengal cannot remain untouched from the “BJP wave” in the country.

19 Dec 2017 3:03 AM

Himachal, Gujarat polls: Cautious BJP may go slow on reforms

Sensing that demonetisation and GST had hit the party hard in Gujarat, the ruling party is expected to go soft on reforms, sources said.

19 Dec 2017 2:37 AM

Himachal poll: BJP hunts for CM as Prem Kumar Dhumal loses

Many felt this could be the last electoral battle for Dhumal as he is just two years short of the BJP’s unofficial age bar of 75.

19 Dec 2017 2:10 AM

There’s hope for 2019 in Congress’ defeat

Rahul Gandhi even managed to annoy and exasperate the BJP with his regular visits to temples in Gujarat.

19 Dec 2017 1:58 AM

With new energy, Cong puts up a real fight

The BJP has marginally increased its voteshare percentage, but the Congress too has boosted it by six per cent.

19 Dec 2017 1:31 AM


Verdict 2017: Questions of identity trumps over real issues in 2 states

The victory of the BJP was hardly doubtful in Himachal as that state has a history of handing its government to alternate parties.

19 Dec 2017 1:28 AM

BJP wraps up 2017 with 6 out of 7 states, can Rahul find an answer in 2018?

Under PM, Amit Shah, BJP has ousted Cong from power in Maharashtra, Haryana, Jharkhand, Assam, Uttarakhand, Goa, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur.

18 Dec 2017 9:19 PM

Himachal, Gujarat polls: BJP continues winning trend in Assembly over Congress

With the two states in BJP's kitty, the score now stands at 19 for the BJP and its allies and five for the Congress.

18 Dec 2017 9:18 PM

‘Only vikas will win’, says Modi, hails BJP victory in Guj, Himachal as historic

In Gujarat, BJP won 99 out of 182 seats while the Congress, which gave a tough fight to the saffron party, secured 77 seats.

18 Dec 2017 9:03 PM

Cong accepts people’s verdict, ‘fought anger with dignity’: Rahul

Rahul Gandhi who was also the star campaigner for the Gujarat elections this time accepted the defeat on party’s behalf.

18 Dec 2017 6:02 PM


Election results: Modi thanks voters; 'BJP emerges triumphant,' says Amit Shah

Modi promised that that the party will leave no stone unturned in furthering the development journey of the states.

18 Dec 2017 5:44 PM

Tampering of EVMs is the reason for BJP’s win in Gujarat: Hardik Patel

Patel said that specially in Surat, Rajkot and Ahmedabad, there are 12-15 seats where BJP won due to EVM-tampering.

18 Dec 2017 5:43 PM

‘Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar’: Smriti Irani justifies BJP's Gujarat win

Irani said this win is the victory of development, the leadership of Amit Shah and BJP's governance and organisation.

18 Dec 2017 2:26 PM

BJP victory in Gujarat is due to EVMs, not people in state: Sanjay Nirupam

The BJP is set to form government in Gujarat again with latest trends on EC showing the party ahead in 102 seats and Congress in 74 seats.

18 Dec 2017 2:17 PM

BJP snatches Himachal from Cong, Virbhadra takes responsibility of defeat

The result declares BJP victorious amidst 337 candidates that had contested for 68 Assembly seats in the hill state.

18 Dec 2017 7:31 AM