Monday, Jun 24, 2024 | Last Update : 07:51 PM IST


Siddaramaiah resigns as Cong legislature party leader after defeat in K'taka bypoll

The ruling BJP bagged 10 seats and was leading in two others out of 15 constituencies that went for assembly bypolls last week.

09 Dec 2019 4:00 PM

Cong, JD(S) 'disqualified' in people's court, says BJP after K'taka by-poll results

Kateel was happy that the party made its presence felt for the first time in Mandya district.

09 Dec 2019 2:48 PM

Yeddy celebrates with son as trends show BJP leading in K'taka by-polls

Earlier Yediyurappa had confidently said that BJP will win at least 13 seats and the government will be 'safeguarded'.

09 Dec 2019 12:25 PM

'We accept our defeat,' says Shivakumar on K’taka bypolls

Bypolls were for 15 of 17 seats left vacant by MLAs who resigned in July, causing collapse of Cong-JD(S) and BJP's takeover.

09 Dec 2019 11:01 AM

BJP takes early lead in 10 Assembly seats in K'taka bypolls

Initial trends showed the Congress and JD(S) were ahead in two seats, while independent candidate was maintaining lead in Hoskote.

09 Dec 2019 9:29 AM


Siddaramaiah attacks Yediyurappa over Tipu Jayanti, says K'tka CM hates only one community

Siddaramaiah also elaborated upon various schemes introduced during his tenure as the Chief Minister and asked for people to vote 'smartly'.

07 Dec 2019 10:31 AM

BJP has no 'moral ground' to stay in power in Karnataka, says Siddaramaiah

'They formed govt by horse-trading, forcing the 17 people to resign, and destroying democracy,' Siddaramaiah said.

05 Dec 2019 4:06 PM

Karnataka by-polls: Voting begins in 15 Assembly seats

The elections for 15 out of 17 seats are being held since EC withheld elections for 2 seats -- Maski and Rajarajeshwari.

05 Dec 2019 8:34 AM

Cong leaders toying with idea of alliance with JD-S

It is, however, hoping to win at least 10 of the 15, which are not dominated by the Vokkaligas, who are more partial to its rival parties.

30 Nov 2019 7:12 AM

Siddaramaiah, Kumaraswamy booked for sedition over protest against I-T raids

A city court recently directed the commercial street police registered cases under various sections of IPC.

29 Nov 2019 1:51 PM


BJP fields 13 disqualified Cong-JD(S) MLAs for assembly bypolls in Karnataka

The BJP is yet to announce its candidates for the remaining two assembly seats where bypolls will be held in December.

14 Nov 2019 3:54 PM

16 rebel Cong-JD(S) K'taka MLAs, barring Roshan Baig, join BJP

The rebel MLAs will join the BJP in the presence of Yediyurappa and State BJP President Nalin Kumar Kateel.

14 Nov 2019 9:30 AM

17 disqualified rebel MLAs to join BJP tomorrow: K’taka Dy CM

'Disqualified MLAs have expressed interest to join BJP and have met our senior leaders. They have been welcomed to join party,' Dy CM said.

13 Nov 2019 3:14 PM

Dismiss K'taka govt, 'Operation Kamal' exposed: Cong on SC verdict

Bypolls to 15 out of these 17 assembly seats which fell vacant following the disqualification of MLAs are scheduled on Dec 5.

13 Nov 2019 1:20 PM

SC upholds disqualification of 17 K'taka rebel MLAs, allows them to contest bypolls

The MLAs can now contest by-polls and are likely to contest as BJP candidates, which has to win at least six of the 15 seats.

13 Nov 2019 10:53 AM


Karnataka rebel MLAs seek deferment of bypolls on December 5

The bench asked Rohatgi to file the plea and said that they will later consider what to do.

08 Nov 2019 12:03 PM

K'taka disqualified MLA claims Yeddy gave Rs 1,000 crore to support him to be CM

Karnataka MLA Narayana Gowda said: 'Yeddy asked me to sit and asked me to support him so that he can become CM once again.'

06 Nov 2019 8:56 AM

SC to consider leaked clip of CM Yediyurappa in Karnataka MLAs disqualification case

However, the bench did not specify whether it would take on record the clip.

05 Nov 2019 1:15 PM

Rebel MLAs' resignation led to govt formation in K'taka: BJP minister

'There is no question of leaving their hands. We are with them,' KS Eshwarappa said.

05 Nov 2019 8:09 AM

Supreme Court to hear Congress plea on Yediyurappa’s leaked clip tomorrow

Last month, SC reserved verdict on petitions challenging disqualification of 17 MLAs before trust vote of Kumaraswamy govt.

04 Nov 2019 1:12 PM