Tuesday, Jun 25, 2024 | Last Update : 08:30 PM IST

meira kumar

Congress decides to back TMC man for RS deputy chairperson

The Trinamul Congress has, however, officially denied that Mr Roy’s name had been finalised.

28 Jun 2018 2:10 AM

I don’t want to mix activism with politics, says Prakash Ambedkar

He is comfortable identifying himself as an activist rather than a politician.

16 Aug 2017 2:18 AM

TMC may back Congress in RS polls

The Congress central leadership is yet to take a call on the selection of the party’s candidate.

27 Jul 2017 3:01 AM

Blow to Congress, Gujarat leader Vaghela quits party

Vaghela wanted to be the Congress’ chief ministerial candidate in coming Assembly polls.

21 Jul 2017 3:57 PM

Cross-voting by oppn lawmakers enhanced Kovind's presidency

BJP general secretary Bhupender Yadav, Kovind's key election manager, claimed close to 116 lawmakers from rival parties voted for Kovind.

21 Jul 2017 11:10 AM


Ram Nath Kovind defeats Meira Kumar, becomes 14th President of India

Ram Nath Kovind is second dalit after K.R. Narayanan, and first BJP member to be President.

21 Jul 2017 6:02 AM

Difficult times for Kovind to uphold Constitution, says Meira Kumar

The Congress claimed that Ms Kumar had secured the largest number of votes as an Opposition candidate since independence.

21 Jul 2017 3:37 AM

Kovind: India’s new President

Only once in 70 years has India been able to agree universally on a President.

21 Jul 2017 12:06 AM

India gets 14th President today: List of achievements of previous Raisina Hill occupants

The two Presidential nominees - NDA's Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition's Meira Kumar - were both from the Dalit community.

20 Jul 2017 4:31 PM

Ram Nath Kovind defeats Kumar, becomes 14th President of India

Ram Nath Kovind succeeds Pranab Mukherjee whose Presidential term will end on July 24.

20 Jul 2017 4:15 PM


Prez poll result: NDA's Ram Nath Kovind leads by over 37,000 votes

The votes would be counted on four separate tables and there would be eight rounds of counting.

20 Jul 2017 9:38 AM

Meira Kumar vs Kovind: New President to be named today

The numbers are stacked in favour of the ruling coalition’s nominee Ram Nath Kovind over the Opposition’s candidate Meira Kumar.

20 Jul 2017 3:48 AM

Kovind and Meira Kumar: The wood in the axe?

PM Modi’s handpicked candidate for President is Ram Nath Kovind, a dalit gentleman who was governor of Bihar until recently.

20 Jul 2017 2:07 AM

Will the lot of dalits change with a dalit Prez?

Only the caste identity matters — the identity that was supposed to have become irrelevant long ago.

19 Jul 2017 2:18 AM

A first: PM, Prez, V-P all from the RSS stable

Ms Kumar and Congress chief Sonia Gandhi best summed up the reality by declaring it “a contest of ideologies”.

19 Jul 2017 12:52 AM


Vote in name of ideology, says Meira Kumar

According to the Secretariat of the Lok Sabha, a total of 768 MPs voted in the election of both the Houses.

18 Jul 2017 6:38 AM

China interfering in state, thanks to BJP, says Mamata Banerjee

Ms Banerjee met Basirhat MLA Dipendu Biswas and is likely to have taken stock of the present situation in Basirhat.

18 Jul 2017 1:51 AM

TMC supports Meira Kumar; is against unlawfulness, injustice: WB CM

Further slamming the government, Banerjee stated that the TMC will not bow down and will rather fight and be happy to go to jail.

17 Jul 2017 6:53 PM

BJP confident of Kovind's win, CPI(M) asks electoral college to vote 'thoughtfully'

Kovind, the former Bihar governor, is contesting against the opposition's joint candidate and former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar.

17 Jul 2017 1:49 PM

Here is a look at how President is elected in India

The counting of votes will take place on July 20 in New Delhi.

17 Jul 2017 12:49 PM