Wednesday, Feb 21, 2024 | Last Update : 07:47 PM IST

presidential poll

BJP confident of NDA President pick win

CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury also expected the members of the electoral college to adhere to their inner voice.

18 Jul 2017 6:40 AM

MPs to present President with coffee table book as farewell gift

Pranab Mukherjee's term ends on July 24 and the next president will take oath on July 25.

17 Jul 2017 12:51 PM

Fate of Meira Kumar, Kovind sealed as Prez poll ends; result on Thursday

There was a clash between TMC MLA and his counterparts after the former said that the latter had set the hills on fire.

17 Jul 2017 9:00 AM

Opposition fears cross voting in presidential poll

BJP has 122 MLA’s with a vote value of 21,350 and will receive Sena’s vote value of 11,025. Each vote value is 175.

14 Jul 2017 3:16 AM

AAP extends support to Oppn presidential candidate Meira Kumar

On July 17, the electors will cast their votes to elect the next President of India.

13 Jul 2017 8:18 PM


Atmosphere of fear must end in India, says Meira Kumar

The presidential election, she said, was not merely about two candidates fighting the elections for the post of the president.

05 Jul 2017 4:54 AM

Pranabda cares for me like a father: PM at book launch on President

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said he was fortunate that he could hold President Pranab Mukherjee's hand while trying to settle in Delhi.

03 Jul 2017 8:25 AM

Presidential poll a battle of ideologies not castes, says Meira Kumar

Kumar added that in earlier presidential elections, caste was never an issue but it was only the merit of the respective candidate that was in play.

28 Jun 2017 1:02 AM

Prez polls: Oppn to decide on nominee today; JD(U) backs Kovind

The Cong hopes that leaders of all parties who attended the May 26 luncheon hosted by Sonia Gandhi would be present on Thursday.

22 Jun 2017 8:24 AM

No card, only hard cash for President nomination in Digital India

Candidates who wish to be president have to deposit Rs 15,000 with the returning officer while filing their nomination papers for the post.

18 Jun 2017 5:28 PM


These are rumours: Sushma Swaraj on reports of her being presidential candidate

The presidential election is scheduled to be held on July 17 while the counting of votes would be held on July 20.

17 Jun 2017 4:59 PM

Suggest name for candidates on Presidential polls: Cong to BJP

Singh and Naidu arrived at Gandhi's 10 Janpath residence to help evolve an agreement on the crucial election scheduled for tomorrow.

16 Jun 2017 12:33 PM

Presidential polls: Rajnath, Naidu to meet Sonia Gandhi today

The Election Commission said the last date of nomination is June 28 and the counting of votes will be taken up on July 20.

16 Jun 2017 10:59 AM

Prez polls: BJP boosted by electoral win

Party has begun moves to reach out to Oppositions on selecting a consensus candidate.

15 Jun 2017 2:13 AM

EC issues Prez election notification, nomination filing begins today

The ruling NDA and a loosely knit group of opposition parties have intensified efforts to zero in on a

14 Jun 2017 4:14 PM


Prez election on July 17, last date for filing of nomination is June 28: EC

The term of President Pranab Mukherjee ends on July 24; the counting of the 2017 Presidential election to be held on July 20.

07 Jun 2017 5:57 PM

Crucial Congress meet underway, to discuss presidential poll

Top Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad, P Chidambaram, Ambika Soni, Janardan Dwiwedi and other CWC members were present during the meeting.

06 Jun 2017 11:41 AM

Unprincipled alliance of Oppn parties opportunistic, won't last long: Venkaiah on Prez poll

'There are 3 categories of people, who are upset with Modi for being weeded out: the corrupt, communal and casteist,' Naidu said.

27 May 2017 7:20 PM

Will protest if no consensus with us on prez candidate: Oppn to Govt

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has begun consultations with his allies on the nominee for President.

26 May 2017 7:24 PM

BJP CMs to resign as MPs only after presidential poll

BJP wants both Adityanath and Parrikar to cast their votes in the poll before putting in their papers, party sources said.

14 May 2017 1:35 PM