Sunday, Jun 23, 2024 | Last Update : 07:25 PM IST

rajya sabha election

RS polls see cross-voting: Big upset for Congress in HP

Out of the 56 Rajya Sabha seats that went to the polls, 41 members have virtually secured their seats in the Upper House

28 Feb 2024 1:17 AM

Hardeep Puri, nine others declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from UP

Ten candidates were declared elected to the Rajya Sabha and were also given their certificates

03 Nov 2020 1:26 PM

Big day for Scindia and Digvijaya as Madhya Pradesh Assembly votes for RS seats

Three Rajya Sabha seats go to polls in Madhya Pradesh.

19 Jun 2020 12:57 AM

Mallikarjuna Kharge named as Congress candidate for Karnataka Rajya Sabha polls

Kharge had lost the 2019 general election from his Gulbarga parliamentary seat.

05 Jun 2020 6:39 PM

RS polls confirm emerging line-ups

The most important point to emerge from UP is that the recently forged SP and BSP relationship is likely to hold for the Lok Sabha poll.

25 Mar 2018 12:10 AM


CPM’s allegation false, malicious, says Singhvi Abhishek Manu

He said his date of birth was February 24, 1959 and that the same was found in all his records from school days.

23 Mar 2018 12:50 AM

Prakash Javdekar likely to get Rajya Sabha seat from state

Sources from the EC said that each vote will have a value of 100 and value of all votes will be 28,800.

23 Feb 2018 8:35 AM

BJP made Rajya Sabha seat a prestige issue, says Ahmed Patel

The Rajya Sabha election of Mr Patel witnessed a nail-biting midnight drama in which the results were declared way past midnight.

11 Aug 2017 2:32 AM

Congress expels 8 Gujarat MLAs over RS cross-vote

The expelled MLAs include former Gujarat CM Shankersinh Vaghela and his son Mahendrasinh Vaghela.

10 Aug 2017 1:28 AM

Shot in the arm for Cong, blow to BJP

The election showed in the end that 43 of the 57 Congress MLAs stuck with the party.

10 Aug 2017 12:15 AM


44 Gujarat Congress MLAs set to return on Monday

Gohil also denied reports in a section of the media that the MLAs would first be flown to New Delhi to meet party chief Sonia Gandhi.

07 Aug 2017 1:00 AM

After MLAs’ drama, wait for RS results

The Congress has alleged that its MLAs were offered a sum of Rs 15 crores each to resign their seats.

07 Aug 2017 12:12 AM

Gujarat Congress fears 'poaching' by BJP, flies 44 MLAs to B'luru

Of the 57 Cong MLAs in the state, from where party leader Ahmed Patel is contesting, six resigned from the party in the last two days.

29 Jul 2017 1:32 PM

Cong flies 44 MLAs to B'luru to escape police, political pressure of joining BJP

The developments come after at least six Congress MLAs in Gujarat resigned from the party to join the BJP.

29 Jul 2017 8:46 AM

Blow to Congress, as 5 Gujarat MLAs resign

Congress MLAs Mansingh Chouhan and Chhanabhai Chaudhary handed over their resignation to the speaker Ramanlal Vora.

28 Jul 2017 12:42 PM