Thursday, May 23, 2024 | Last Update : 06:29 AM IST

Rajya Sabha elections Page-2

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP fields four aspirants, Congress in spot

Fadnavis trying to get Sena’s additional votes for Rahatkar.

13 Mar 2018 4:00 AM

TDP to wait till Rajya Sabha polls to take call on ties with BJP?

To win in the Rajya Sabha elections in the first round, 44 MLAs’ support is required.

09 Mar 2018 4:54 AM

RS polls: Sena to shun Rane

Unlikely to give votes, should BJP field him.

03 Mar 2018 1:59 AM

NCP MP likely to be repeated for next term

In that game, the Congress and the communists will be key players.

25 Feb 2018 7:42 AM

Renuka Chowdhury files privilege motion against Rijiju

Privilege Motion does not force the Council of Ministers to resign.

10 Feb 2018 2:27 AM


Congress should learn from Gujarat RS win

Ahmed Patel may have been elected but he did not “win” because he could not keep his flock together.

11 Aug 2017 12:22 AM

Congress on edge for Rajya Sabha voting on Tuesday

As per the current strength of the Gujarat Assembly, each candidate requires a minimum of 44 votes to win.

08 Aug 2017 4:23 AM

Nota: See the larger picture

The Nota option was on the ballot in many Rajya Sabha elections, but most parties, including the BJP, found no reason to object.

05 Aug 2017 12:06 AM

Left Front to field Bikash for RS polls

The polls will be held for six Rajya Sabha seats from the state on August 8.

29 Jul 2017 4:30 AM

Ahmed Patel in trouble as three more Gujarat MLAs quit Congress

A worried Congress flew nine of its Gujarat MLAs to Bangaluru to prevent poaching by the BJP.

29 Jul 2017 2:08 AM


3 more Congress MLAs resign in Gujarat; 6 in 2 days

On Thursday three Congress MLAs from Gujarat had resigned and joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

28 Jul 2017 6:21 PM

Cong under pressure in Gujarat as 1 more MLA resigns; count up to 6

The resignation of three more MLAs on Friday has reduced Congress's tally to 51 in the 182-seat Assembly.

28 Jul 2017 4:03 PM

Amit Shah, Smriti Irani file nomination for RS elections from Gujarat

BJP's woman tribal leader Sampatia Uike from MP will be fielded in the RS by-election from Gujarat, Union Minister JP Nadda said.

28 Jul 2017 12:31 PM

Gujarat: Amit Shah, Smriti Irani to file nomination for RS elections today

The Parliamentary board of the BJP on Wednesday announced that Amit Shah and Smriti Irani will contest for RS elections from Gujarat.

28 Jul 2017 7:56 AM

RS election: Congress set to renominate Ahmed Patel

Patel is a four term Rajya Sabha MP and has also been elected to the Lok Sabha thrice from Bharuch parliamentary constituency in Gujarat.

24 Jul 2017 5:04 AM