Tuesday, Jun 06, 2023 | Last Update : 12:41 AM IST

  Business   Companies  03 May 2017  IRCTC launches Southern Sojourn and Southern Jewels

IRCTC launches Southern Sojourn and Southern Jewels

Published : May 3, 2017, 2:21 pm IST
Updated : May 3, 2017, 2:21 pm IST

The two new circuits have been launched to cater the needs of domestic travelers.

Maharaja Express
 Maharaja Express

New Delhi: Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation has decided to  launch two new circuits of its flagship luxury train Maharajas' Express this year. The luxury train will be running on two new tour circuits named as ‘Southern Sojourn and ‘Southern Jewels’.

The ministry of Railways in a statement said in statement that two new tour circuits have been launched to cater the needs of domestic travelers that are being planned during monsoon season. While the two new circuits have been planned for June/July, the regular trips will commence from September

The Southern Sojourn will cover Goa, Hampi, Mysore, Ernakulam, Kumarakom and Trivandrum ,while the Southern Jewels will cover Chettinad, Mahabalipuram, Mysore, Hampi and Goa.

Here are couple of things that the new Maharajas' Express circuits has to offer to the travellers.


For the Passengers who will  part of  this journey IRCTC has introduced Monsoon Special itineraries of Maharajas' Express. Passengers are allowed to avail part of the total journey on a fixed price of  USD 500 or Rs 33250.00 per day per person on twin sharing basis. On single occupancy basis the charges would be USD 800 or Rs 53200.00. The prices are exclusive of taxes and limited to a maximum of 2 nights 3 days

Schedule of the Maharaja Express

Southern Sojourn – Monsoon Special shall start from Mumbai on 24th June 2017 & stop at Goa, Hampi, Mysore, Cochin, Alleppey before terminating at Trivandrum. The Southern Jewels – Monsoon Special shall depart from Trivandrum on 1st July 2017 and terminate at Mumbai covering Chettinad, Mahabalipuram, Mysore, Hampi and Goa. Each journey shall be of 8 Days/7 Nights duration.

The regular trip of Southern Sojourn will start from Mumbai on 9 Sep 2017 and Southern Jewels will start from Trivandrum on 16 Sep 2017.

Booking details

The booking and other details for this train can either be done online on the official website of Maharajas’ Express at http://www.the-maharajas.com or on the official website of IRCTC http://www.irctc.co.in and http://www.irctctourism.com. The details can be obtained on Official Mobile No +91 9717635915 or +91 9717640678  or +91 9717639033 on working days and queries can be made at maharajas@irctc.com. In addition the bookings can be done through authorised agents. List of authorised agents can be accessed at


 For Guests booking online or directly through phone, a special facility is being offered free of cost in the form of redeemable voucher of USD 250 (approx Rs. 16000/-) for each individual guest. Although the vouchers cannot be encashed they can be redeemed against all off-board optionals, liquor bills, on-board boutique purchases and laundry bills.

Maharajas’ Express commenced its operations in 2010 and the 23 coach long train with a capacity of 88 guests, is a cut above other luxury trains in each aspect.

Tags: maharaja express, southern soujourn, southern jewels
Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi