Sunday, Jun 23, 2024 | Last Update : 04:25 PM IST

  Business   Companies  08 Sep 2017  No-Fly list: Levels of offence and punishment

No-Fly list: Levels of offence and punishment

Published : Sep 8, 2017, 3:42 pm IST
Updated : Sep 8, 2017, 3:51 pm IST

Strictures propose ban on travelling from 2 months to more than 2 years based on nature of incident.

Aviation Ministry brought out No-Fly list to curb rising number of unruly behaviour on flights.
 Aviation Ministry brought out No-Fly list to curb rising number of unruly behaviour on flights.

Mumbai: The civil aviation ministry on Friday made public its new No-Fly list for passengers who endanger flight safety and flout aviation safety rules either on the ground or while they are in the mid-air flight.

The government swung into action to draw these rules in the aftermath of rising number of onboard cases related to passengers going unruly and berserk.

Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapati Raju earlier in the day had said in a series of tweets that the government was working out the contours of the rules to ensure safety and check unruly and disruptive behaviour on aircraft.

Raju strongly denied there will be any exception and that the rules will be applicable to every air passenger. "Goes without saying, but since many have asked, let me reply - the No-fly list provisions are applicable to EVERY passenger. No exemptions," he tweeted.

More announcements on the No-Fly list at 1:30 pm today, he said while adding, "We will put in place, mechanism for country's first No-Fly list today," Raju said.

No-Fly List

The onboard or in flight offences have been divided into three categories depending on the graveness of the unruly and disruptive behaviour. The government has incorporated level of punishment at part with the gravity of the offence. Here are the different categories of disruptive behaviour and  penalty for them.

No-Fly offence categories:

Level 1 - unruly physical gestures, verbal harassment and unruly inebriation.

Ban - upto 3 months

Level 2 - physically abusive behaviour (pushing, kicking, hitting, inappropriate touching)

Ban - upto 6 months

Level 3 - life threatening behaviour - assaults, damage to aircraft systems etc.

Ban - min 2 years

Minister Raju added to implement the new policy, the decision will be taken by an independent committee under a retired district judge within a period of 30 days of alleged offence.

The No-Fly ban will be in addition to any statutory legal action that can be taken against the offender under existing laws, Raju further informed.

Tags: no-fly list, aviation safety rules, dgca, civil aviation