Saturday, May 21, 2022 | Last Update : 08:54 AM IST

  Entertainment   Bollywood  07 Apr 2017  64th National Awards: Akshay Best Actor, Sonam's Neerja Best Hindi Film

64th National Awards: Akshay Best Actor, Sonam's Neerja Best Hindi Film

Published : Apr 7, 2017, 12:29 pm IST
Updated : Apr 7, 2017, 3:35 pm IST

Marathi film Kaasav won the Best Feature Film while Priyanka Chopra's production Ventilator also won awards.

Akshay Kumar in 'Rustom' and Sonam Kapoor in 'Neerja.'
 Akshay Kumar in 'Rustom' and Sonam Kapoor in 'Neerja.'

Mumbai: The 64th edition of the National Awards were held on Friday at the National Media Centre in New Delhi where some of the best performances of the year were honoured.

The 64th National Awards jury is headed by Priyadarshan.


Over 300 films vied for the top spot this year. The process to choose the best from Indian cinema began on March 16 and the winners were finally announced on Friday.

Here's the complete list:

Best Hindi Movie: Neerja

Best Actor: Akshay Kumar for Rustom

Best Actress: Surabhi for Minnaminungu

Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim for Dangal

Best Supporting Actor: Manoj Joshi for Dashakriya

Best Female Playback Singer: Iman Chakraborty for Tumi Jaake Bhalobasho from Praktan

Best Male Playback Singer: Sundara Iyer for Tamil film Joker

Best Feature film: Marathi film Kaasav

Best Director: Rajesh Mapuskar for Marathi film Ventilator


Best Editing: Rameshwar for Ventilator

Best Writing: G Dhananjay

Most Film Friendly State: Uttar Pradesh

Special Mention Award to Jharkand

Best Tamil movie: Joker

Best Malayalam Movie: Maheshinte Prathikaaram

Best Kannada Film: Reservation

Best Special Effect Award: Shivaay

Jury Award: Mohanlal

Best Lyrics: Dharma Durai, Endha Pakkam.

Best Cinematography: 24 The Movie

Best Child Artist: Kunju Devam, Ardish Praveen and Shaj Pathak

Best film on Social Issues: Pink

Best Children Film: Dhanak

Best Environmental Film including Agriculture:  The Tiger Who Crossed the Line

Indira Gandhi Award for Debut Director: Khalifa (Bengali)


Best Action Director and Stunt Choreographer: Peter Haines for Pulimurugan

Best Book on Cinema: Lata Surgatha — a book that narrates the story of legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar

Best Animation: Hum Chitra Banate Hain

Best Educational Film: The Waterfalls

Best Biographical/Historical reconstruction: Zikr Uss Parivash Ka

Best Marathi Film: Dashakriya

Best Bengali Film: Bisarjan

Best Gujarati Film: Wrong Side Raju

Best Telugu Movie: Pellichuplu

Best Action Choreography: Vysakh for Pulimurugan

Best Sound designer: Jayadevan for Kaadu Pookunna Neram

Best Production design: 24

Best Costume Designer: Sachin

Best Make-up Artist: MK Ramakrishna


Best Music Direction: Babu Padmanabha

Special Jury award: Mohanlal for Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol

Special Mentions:

Neerja (Hindi)

Sonam Kapoor (Neerja)

The Eyes of Darkness

Kadvi Hawa

Adil Hussain for Mukti Bhawan (Hindi)

Adil Hussain for Majirathi Keki (Assamese)

Madipur (Tulu)

Joker (Tamil)

Wrongside Raju (Gujarati)

Pelli Chupulu (Telugu)

Dasakriya (Marathi)

Maheshinte Prathikaram (Malayalam)

Ke Sara Sara (Konkini)

Reservation (Kannada)

Tags: neerja, sonam kapoor, akshay kumar, national awards
Location: India, Maharashtra, Mumbai (Bombay)