Saturday, Jan 28, 2023 | Last Update : 03:17 AM IST

  India   All India  23 May 2018  Karnataka: Opposition parties unite on stage at Kumaraswamy swearing in

Karnataka: Opposition parties unite on stage at Kumaraswamy swearing in

Published : May 23, 2018, 2:37 pm IST
Updated : May 23, 2018, 5:44 pm IST

HD Kumaraswamy takes oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka and Congress’ G Parameshwara as his deputy.

 (Photo: Twitter/ANI)
  (Photo: Twitter/ANI)

Bengaluru: India’s Opposition parties united on Wednesday -- at least, symbolically on the dais -- where JD(S)’ H D Kumaraswamy was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Kumaraswamy will lead a JD(S)-Congress alliance this term with a Congress Deputy Chief Minister, G Parameshwara.

Kumaraswamy’s Cabinet will be sworn in on Friday, after he proves his majority in the Assembly tomorrow.

The new Cabinet will have 22 MLAs from the Congress and JD(S) will have 13, including the chief minister.

The alliance has 78 MLAs from the Congress and 38 from the JD(S).
The Opposition parties seized the opportunity on Wednesday to put up a united show at Kumaraswamy’s swearing-in, to send forth the message that an anti-BJP, anti-Modi front was coming into force.

Whether this unity will translate into a poll strategy for 2019 or even formulate a Common Minimum Programme remains to be seen.

From the ground, this was the scene: Everybody smiled at each other and shook hands. Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati greeted Samajawadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav. The arch rivals had teamed up before the important bypolls of Gorakhpur and Phulpur to defeat the BJP, and have another important test ahead – the bypoll in Kairana on May 28.

UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and her son, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi were seen greeting other leaders, including NCP chief Sharad Pawar who has openly said he will go with the Congress in the next Maharashtra Assembly polls.

Other prominent leaders present were relentless Modi-baiter and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan and CPI(M) chief Sitaram Yechury. 

Yechury vigorously shook hand with Mamata, irrespective of the fact that his party had chosen to support the Congress in the 2016 state polls against Mamata’s Trinamool and was resoundly crushed.

It is obvious that past rancour and bitterness are being firmly swept under the carpet, with one objective – to defeat the BJP in 2019.

Here are the LIVE updates from Karnataka:

04:35 pm: Congress' G.Parameshwara takes oath as Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

04:32 pm: JD(S)'s H D Kumaraswamy takes oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka, administered by Governor Vajubhai Vala.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

04:22 pm: Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Siddaramaiah arrive at Vidhana Soudha.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

04:18 pm: HD Kumaraswamy arrives at Vidhana Soudha to take oath as CM.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

04:16 pm: Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda and his wife Chennamma arrive at Vidhana Soudha.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

04:11 pm: Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati at Vidhana Soudha ahead of the swearing in ceremony. 

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

04:09 pm: People at Vidhana Soudha take shelter under tarpaulin as rain lashes Bengaluru ahead of HD Kumaraswamy and G.Parameshwara's swearing in as Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister respectively.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

03:50 pm: Preparations are going on in full swing at the Vidhan Souda ahead of Kumaraswamy's oath taking ceremony.

(Photo: Twitter/ANI)(Photo: Twitter/ANI)

03:10 pm: Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu and CPI(M)'s Sitaram Yechury meet ahead of attending HD Kumaraswamy's swearing-in ceremony.

 (Photo: Twitter/ANI)(Photo: Twitter/ANI)

02:09 pm: “No one is unhappy, we all are together. We are celebrating that our government is coming in power. I never said that I'm an aspirant of Karnataka Chief Minister post. All is well,” said Congress leader D K Shivakumar.

01:52 pm: CPI(M) chief Sitaram Yechury, NCP president Sharad Pawar and Samajwadi Party supremo Akhilesh Yadav arrive in Bengaluru to take part in Kumaraswamy's  oath-taking ceremony.

01:24 pm: “We've come here to witness swearing in ceremony of H D Kumaraswamy and express our solidarity to him. In future we'll work together to protect and promote national interest. We're here to strengthen all regional parties,” said Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee.

01:23 pm: West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee and Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu arrives at Bengaluru.

(Photo: Twitter/ANI)(Photo: Twitter/ANI)

12:10 pmBJP is observing 'Anti-People's Mandate Day' in Karnataka in view of the swearing-in ceremony of the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress coalition government in the southern state.

(Photo: Twitter/ANI)(Photo: Twitter/ANI)

10:38 amKarnataka Chief Minister designate H D Kumaraswamy said all the promises made will be kept.

Read: Running Cong-JD(S) coalition government will be big challenge: Kumaraswamy

09:38 am: “It's the high command which decides all this, they chose me. I thank them immensely but the point is they’re also eligible but they gave me this opportunity,” said G Parameshwara, Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister designate, on being asked that Roshan Baig and D K Shivakumar were also in the race for deputy CM’s post.

Also Read: Kumaraswamy oath-taking ceremony today to be a show of opposition unity

09:34 am: Celebrations outside H D Kumaraswamy's residence in Bengaluru. Kumaraswamy will take oath as the Karnataka Chief Minister today. 

(Photo: Twitter/ANI)(Photo: Twitter/ANI)

(Photo: Twitter/ANI)(Photo: Twitter/ANI)


Tags: h d kumaraswamy, swearing-in, jd(s), congress, karnataka assembly, rahul gandhi
Location: India, Karnataka, Bengaluru