Monday, Aug 10, 2020 | Last Update : 10:45 PM IST

139th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra51533235171017757 Tamil Nadu2969012386384927 Andhra Pradesh2278601387122036 Karnataka178087939083198 Delhi1454271305874111 Uttar Pradesh122609726502069 West Bengal95554671202059 Bihar7972051315429 Telangana7949555999627 Gujarat71064542382652 Assam5883842326145 Rajasthan5249738235789 Odisha4592731785321 Haryana4163534781483 Madhya Pradesh3902529020996 Kerala3433121832109 Jammu and Kashmir2489717003472 Punjab2390315319586 Jharkhand185168998177 Chhatisgarh12148880996 Uttarakhand96326134125 Goa871259575 Tripura6161417641 Puducherry5382320187 Manipur3752204411 Himachal Pradesh3371218114 Nagaland27819048 Arunachal Pradesh215514823 Chandigarh151590425 Meghalaya10624906 Sikkim8664971 Mizoram6082980
  India   Politics  12 Jul 2019  Sonia, Rahul lead Congress walkout in Parliament

Sonia, Rahul lead Congress walkout in Parliament

Published : Jul 12, 2019, 4:06 am IST
Updated : Jul 12, 2019, 7:05 am IST

The Congress MPs, led by UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi, then staged a walkout.

Congress leader Anand Sharma. (Photo: Twitter | ANI)
 Congress leader Anand Sharma. (Photo: Twitter | ANI)

New Delhi: Accusing the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of “assaulting” democracy by indulging in destabilising the Congress-JD(S) government in Karnataka and poaching its MLAs in Goa, the Congress staged a walkout in both the Houses of Parliament on Thursday.

In Lok Sabha, leader of Congress party Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury sought an opportunity from Speaker Om Birla to speak on the political situation of Karnataka and Goa during the Zero Hour. However, Mr Birla did not allow Mr Chowdhury and went ahead with other business of the day. The Congress MPs, led by UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi, then staged a walkout.


In Rajya Sabha, as soon as the Upper House asse-mbled, Congress deputy leader Anand Sharma said the BJP was “assaulting” democracy by indulging in destabilising the Karnataka government.  

“Our leaders are arrested. The issue is that they are trying to topple the government in Karnataka. In Goa, they are in power so what is the need to do this,” Mr Sharma said, as Congress MPs walked out.

The Congress leaders, including Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Anand Sharma later protested near the statue of Mahatma Gandhi in the Parliament complex and shouted slogans. They also carried placards with messages like “Save Democracy”.


The other opposition parties like TMC, SP, RJD, NCP, CPI(M) too protested in front of Gandhi statue against the BJP Government holding placards “Stop bulldozing state governments” and “BJP killing democracy.”

Congress MPs in both Houses returned soon to their Houses. In Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury spoke on demands for grants by the railway ministry. In Rajya Sabha too, Congress MPs returned to join the discussions on Union Budget. The Congress-JD(S) government in Karnataka is staring a major crisis after several of their MLAs quit to join the BJP, thus bringingcoalition government on  brink of  minority. In Goa, on Wednesday, 10 of the 15 Congress MLAs quit the party and joined the BJP.


Tags: rahul gandhi, sonia gandhi