Sunday, Jul 14, 2024 | Last Update : 12:39 AM IST

  India   Politics  18 May 2019

India, Politics, 18 May 2019 Page-2

'Difference in views, should be': CEC slams row over Lavasa dissent

‘The three members of EC are not expected to be template or clones of each other,’ the statement released by CEC said.

18 May 2019 1:53 PM

'Godse row': Congress changes Twitter, Facebook DP to Mahatma Gandhi

The move comes in the wake of a raging controversy over BJP leader Sadhvi Pragys's remarks supporting Nathuram Godse.

18 May 2019 1:46 PM

Congress, JDS will win 18-19 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka: Kumaraswamy

Karnataka has a total of 28 Lok Sabha seats, where Congress and JDS are fighting together.

18 May 2019 1:06 PM

PM Modi's defeat from Varanasi would be more historic than his win: Mayawati

'The Gujarat model of PM Modi was not at all successful in eliminating extreme poverty,' Mayawati tweeted.

18 May 2019 1:04 PM

Fabricated stories being created against Modi, Shah: Naqvi

‘This perception of intolerance against us is completely wrong,’ said Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

18 May 2019 12:46 PM


Kamal Haasan says 'Hindu' not native to India; given by Mughals, endorsed by British

The actor-turned-politician maintained that history has shown that all religions have their extremists.

18 May 2019 12:22 PM

Cong slams Modi govt over election commissioner Lavasa recusing himself from meetings

Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa to stay out of EC code meet over clean chits given to PM and Amit Shah.

18 May 2019 12:13 PM

Deve Gowda reiterates support to Cong in K’taka, says 'We are with them'

Earlier, the JD(S) supremo had pledged support to Rahul Gandhi if he becomes the prime minister.

18 May 2019 11:49 AM

Chandrababu Naidu reaches out to Rahul, Sharad Pawar to discuss post-poll scenario

Naidu would fly to Lucknow later on Saturday to meet Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav and Bahujan Samaj Party supremo Mayawati.

18 May 2019 11:10 AM

Nine LS seats in West Bengal to go to polls in seventh phase

An electorate of nearly 1.5 crore will decide the fate of 111 candidates in 9 seats.

18 May 2019 11:08 AM


Ashok Lavasa to stay out of EC code meet over clean chits to PM, Amit Shah

‘I am being forced to stay away from the meetings since minority decisions are not being recorded,’ Lavasa said.

18 May 2019 10:46 AM

Pragya Thakur is a terrorist: Siddaramaiah on 'Godse is Patriot' row

Thakur, the BJP candidate from Bhopal Lok Sabha seat had earlier defended Godse on May 16 by calling him a patriot.

18 May 2019 9:59 AM

BJP won't remove Article 370 from J&K even if it rules for 100 years at Centre: Azad

The senior Congress leader also said Rahul Gandhi's candidature for the PM post was important but it would be achieved through consensus.

18 May 2019 9:45 AM