Monday, Jun 17, 2024 | Last Update : 01:50 PM IST

  India   Politics  19 Mar 2017

India, Politics, 19 Mar 2017

Cong names candidates for Himachal, K'taka bypolls

The Congress VP has approved the names of Kalale N Keshavmurthy from Nanjangud-SC and MP Mohanakumari from Gundlupet.

19 Mar 2017 8:51 PM

Manipur: Naga Council’s economic blockade to be lifted today midnight

The land-locked state witnessed an indefinite economic blockade by UNC since November 1, 2016.

19 Mar 2017 7:05 PM

Yogi Adityanath sworn in as UP CM; heads 47-member team

The 44-year-old Adityanath is the fourth chief minister from the saffron party, ending its 15-year hiatus in the Hindi heartland state.

19 Mar 2017 6:39 PM

Lalu Yadav, Sushil Kumar Modi in a Twitter banter over UP CM's swearing-in

Lalu's response came after the BJP leader took a jibe at him by saying that Lalu is in a state of shock by Adityanath's Chief Ministership.

19 Mar 2017 6:16 PM

Yogi Adityanath 'requested me for 2 deputy CMs': Venkaiah

Dinesh Sharma and Keshav Prasad Maurya took oath as the Deputy Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh on Sunday.

19 Mar 2017 5:12 PM


Dinesh Sharma's slow and steady rise in BJP to UP's Dy CM

Sharma is one of two deputy CM of UP. Keshav Prasad Maurya is the other deputy CM in the government to be headed by Yogi Adityanath.

19 Mar 2017 4:16 PM

Adityanath sworn-in as UP CM; focus on development, says BJP

Adityanath, the controversial mascot of hardline Hindutva, was named as next CM of UP, in a move by the BJP that took many by surprise.

19 Mar 2017 2:26 PM

After Yogi's elevation as UP CM, RSS says it has no say in selection

BJP leader Trivendra Singh Rawat, also a RSS pracharak, was elected earlier as the chief minister of Uttarakhand.

19 Mar 2017 1:43 PM

Hinduism is not India, big assault on secularism: Oppn trashes Yogi as UP CM

The BJP won a record 312 of the 403 seats in Uttar Pradesh, excluding 13 seats won by its allies.

19 Mar 2017 11:55 AM

‘Steer clear of controversial remarks’: Shiv Sena to UP CM designate Yogi Adityanath

The Shiv Sena leader also opined that despite Adityanath’s appointment, the Ram temple in Ayodhya will not be built.

19 Mar 2017 10:01 AM


Adityanath’s appointment as UP CM will lead to ‘exclusivist development’: Owaisi

Owasi, a firebrand Muslim leader, said he was the least surprised by the decision.

19 Mar 2017 9:41 AM

Yogi Adityanath to take oath as UP CM today at 2:15 pm; Modi to attend ceremony

The controversial leader was elected unanimously as the state legislative leader by the party on Saturday at their MLA meet.

19 Mar 2017 8:12 AM

Ram Gopal Yadav blames internal sabotage

Naresh Uttam has sent letters to all party units asking them to send the names in a prescribed format in a sealed envelope.

19 Mar 2017 2:51 AM

Adityanath chosen UP Chief Minister

BJP’s Hindutva mascot, the saffron-robed has made several polarising remarks.

19 Mar 2017 1:01 AM