Tuesday, Oct 20, 2020 | Last Update : 03:28 AM IST

195th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra1443409114960338084 Andhra Pradesh7192566588755981 Karnataka6406615157829286 Tamil Nadu6088555529389653 Uttar Pradesh4031013468595864 Delhi2827522506135401 West Bengal2603242287555017 Odisha222734190080912 Kerala204242131048772 Telangana1992761701091163 Bihar178882164537888 Assam169985139977655 Gujarat1332191132403417 Rajasthan1288591077181441 Haryana1237821059901307 Madhya Pradesh117588932382207 Punjab107096840253134 Chhatisgarh9856566860777 Jharkhand7770964515661 Jammu and Kashmir69832495571105 Uttarakhand4533233642555 Goa3107125071386 Puducherry2548919781494 Tripura2412717464262 Himachal Pradesh136799526152 Chandigarh112128677145 Manipur9791760263 Arunachal Pradesh8649623014 Nagaland5768469311 Meghalaya5158334343 Sikkim2707199431 Mizoram178612880
  Metros   Delhi  11 Feb 2020  Delhi: Counting today amid tight security

Delhi: Counting today amid tight security

Published : Feb 11, 2020, 3:17 am IST
Updated : Feb 11, 2020, 3:17 am IST

Delhi chief electoral officer Ranbir Singh, said all the machines have been tested and they are “foolproof as well as non-tamperable”.

Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari
 Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari

New Delhi: Tight security arrangements have been put in place at  21 centres across 11 districts of the national capital where the counting of votes polled in the high-stakes February 8 Delhi Assembly elections will take place on Tuesday. Trends on the elections, in which 92.54 lakh people exercised their franchise, will start coming from 8 am onwards.

The voting trends and results on individual seats will be declared live on the Election Commission of India websites — eciresults.nic.in, eci.gov.in and results.eci.gov.in. Additionally, updates are also expected on EC’s Twitter account.


The curiosity among people to know the outcome of the elections to the 70-member Delhi Assembly has heightened post-exit polls, that has forecast a big win for the ruling AAP, and the delay in announcement of the final voter turnout by authorities.  

The election, largely seen as a battle between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party and the BJP, which went aggressive during the high-octane campaign, was held on Saturday, sealing the fate of 672 candidates — 593 men and 79 women.

Exactly 25 hours after the polling ended in Delhi, the Election Commission on Sunday announced that the final voter turnout was 62.59 per cent, five per cent less than 2015, and asserted that it followed the laid-down process to compile data, after the AAP questioned the “delay”.


On AAP’s charge that the Electronic Voting Machines could be “tampered” with to maniputate the election outcome, Delhi chief electoral officer Ranbir Singh, said all the machines have been tested and they are “foolproof as well as non-tamperable”.

Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari claimed that his party would win the election with precisely 48 seats and said other parties should not make the excuse of EVM tampering for their defeat.

Exit polls have predicted an easy win for the AAP, which sought to retain power on development plank, against the BJP that ran an aggressive campaign centred around the issues of anti-CAA protests and nationalism. Most exit polls also predicted that Congress is unlikely to open its account even this time in Delhi , which it ruled from 1998-2013. Looking to capture power after 22 years, the BJP had mounted one of the most aggressive campaigns in Delhi.


Tags: delhi assembly elections, manoj tiwari