Wednesday, Mar 29, 2023 | Last Update : 02:15 AM IST

  Sports   Cricket  12 Apr 2018  IPL 2018, SRH vs MI: Deepak Hooda guides hosts to one-wicket win

IPL 2018, SRH vs MI: Deepak Hooda guides hosts to one-wicket win

Published : Apr 12, 2018, 7:20 pm IST
Updated : Apr 12, 2018, 11:56 pm IST

Score after 20 overs, Sunrisers Hyderabad 148-9: Stanlake 2(2), Deepak Hooda 32(25); Cutting 4-0-37-0

(Photo: BCCI)
 (Photo: BCCI)

Hyderabad: Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Mumbai Indians by one-wicket in a thrilling contest at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Thursday.

After being set a target of 148 to chase, the hosts got off to an explosive start with Wriddhiman Saha and Shikhar Dhawan striking a 62-run partnership.

However, the defending champions found a way back into the match and it was, once again, through Mayank Markande who rattled the Sunrisers middle order. Kane Williamson and co lost five wickets at the cost of 45 runs that presented Mumbai with a sniff.

Jasprit Bumrah and Mustafizur Rahman piled more misery with quick wickets, leaving Mumbai just one wicket away from victory.

Despite the regular loss of wickets, Deepak Hooda and Billy Stanlake held their nerves and chased 11 runs in the last over to make it two wins in two matches.

SRH 137-9 after 19 overs:

Here comes the FIZZ! Mustafizur Rahman steps up now by dismissing Sandeep Sharma and Siddharth Kaul for a duck. 

SRH 136-7 after 18 overs:

TWO IN TWO FOR BUMRAH! Double blow for Sunrisers and Bumrah has got the Paltans back in the game with wickets of Yusuf Pathan and Rashid Khan.

SRH 107-5 after 13 overs:

WICKET! Another one for Markande and what a way to finish your spell! Googly pitched short and Shakib chops it on. Soft dismissal.

SRH 94-4 after 11 overs:

WICKET! SRH are losing the plot here. Manish Pandey goes for another biggie and gets a top edge that is taken by Rohit Sharma.

SRH 81-3 after 9 overs:

WICKET! And it's the big fish Dhawan this time. Flat delivery and the opener plays a fancy slog sweep. Gets a top edge and finds Bumrah at deep square leg.

MI 147-8 after 20 overs: After being put to bat first, Mumbai Indians posted 147-8 on board against Sunrisers Hyderbad at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Sunday. Mumbai lost Rohit Sharma early on but partner Evin Lewis kept the run rate healthy in the powerplay.

However, the hosts soon bounced back into the match and despite the dropped catches at the start, they never let the opposition batsmen settle at the crease. Sandeep Sharma, Bill Stanlake and Siddharth Kaul claimed two wickets each while Rashid Khan and Shakib Al Hasan claimed one each.

Despite the absence of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sunrisers will be proud of keeping the chasing target well within their reach.

MI 137-8 after 19 overs:

DOUBLE DELIGHT FOR SANDEEP! Pacer strikes with wickets of Suryakumar and Pradeep Sangwan in the 19th over.

MI 136-4 after 18 overs:

BOWLED HIM! Cutting dances down the track, fails to pick the googly and the ball hits the stumps.

MI 111-5 after 15 overs:

WICKET! What happened there? Pacy delivery by Stanlake and Pollard rushes into the shot even before the ball pitches. Finds Dhawan at sweeper cover.

MI 72-4 after 9 overs:

WICKET! Troubles continue for Mumbai. Tossed up by Shakib and Krunal plays his flick early towards edge. Pops it straight to Williamson at cover.

MI 54-3 after 6 overs:

WICKET! Big wicket this and it's Siddhart Kaul yet again. Lewis fails to pick up the knuckle ball and is bowled.

WICKET! Can't get lucky this time. After being dropped off the previous over, Kishan aims to smack kaul for another big one. Gets a top edge and hands it to Yusuf Pathan at third-man.

MI 11-1 after 2 overs:

WICKET! Hooda can have a sigh of relief now. Stanlake bowls a good length delivery towards the pads and Rohit, too early in his shot, flicks it towards Shakib at short square leg.

ROHIT DROPPED! How big a loss can this prove to be? Short one bowled by Sandeep and the MI skipper miscues his pull. Deepak Hooda running from mid-wicket sees the fall slip from his hands.

Preview: Defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) face a tough task of overcoming SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Thursday.

The three-time winners will look to bounce back from the defeat suffered at the hands of Chennai Super Kings in the opener, while Kane Williamson and co secured a thumping nine-wicket victory over Rajasthan Royals.

SRH boast one of the most fearsome bowling attacks in the T20 league and it will take the visitors something special to tame the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Billy, Siddarth Kaul, Rashid Khan and Shakib Al Hasan.

Despite the opening loss, Mumbai had a few positives and negatives to take away. Spinner Mayank Markande impressed on his debut but the main onus will be on the top order to deliver once again.

Despite overcoming an early ankle injury, skipper Rohit Sharma would not want to rush Hardik Pandya into action once again and his inclusion in the opening eleven remains a doubt.

Speaking about Pandya’s injury on the sidelines of an event on Monday, MI skipper Rohit Sharma had said "He's looking good for now. He twisted his ankle but he came (back on the field) and bowled four overs. We still have three days (for the next match, against Sunrisers Hyderabad on April 12). I think he will be fine."

In the absence of David Warner, the hosts will once again bank on skipper Williamson and Shikhar Dhawan to lead from the front.


Sunrisers have won the toss and have elected to bowl first.

Rohit Sharma: We are missing Hardik due to injury, so Pradeep Sangwan playing instead of him. We've left out Mitch McCleneghan, and we've included Ben Cutting instead, who has played a lot of cricket here and knows the conditions pretty well.

Kane Williamson: Bhuvneshwar Kumar misses out, he has a sore back, so Sandeep Sharma comes in making his debut for the franchise, so that's exciting for him.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddharth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami, Ricky Bhui, Basil Thampi, T Natarajan, Sachin Baby, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan, Tanmay Agarwal, Alex Hales, Carlos Brathwaite, Rashid Khan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan and Billy Stanlake.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(c), Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Pat Cummins, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis, Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Mayank Markande, Akila Dananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Mitchell McClenaghan.

When is the match?

The match is scheduled to start at 8 pm IST on Thursday (April 12)

Where is the match?

The match will take place at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Live telecast and timings:

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.

Live streaming:

The matches can be viewed live on or on the Hotstar app.

Tags: ipl 2018, indian premier league (ipl), sunrisers hyderabad, mumbai indians, live cricket score
Location: India, Telangana, Hyderabad