Sunday, Sep 24, 2023 | Last Update : 04:15 PM IST

  Sports   Cricket  17 Apr 2018  IPL 2018, MI vs RCB: Mumbai pick up first win thanks to Rohit Sharma

IPL 2018, MI vs RCB: Mumbai pick up first win thanks to Rohit Sharma

Published : Apr 17, 2018, 7:03 pm IST
Updated : Apr 17, 2018, 11:59 pm IST

Score after 20 overs, RCB 167-8: Kohli 92(62), Siraj 8(3); Bumrah 4-0-28-2

Being put to bat, the defending champions posted a mammoth target of 214 for the visitors to chase riding on Rohit Sharma’s blistering knock of 94. (Photo: AFP)
 Being put to bat, the defending champions posted a mammoth target of 214 for the visitors to chase riding on Rohit Sharma’s blistering knock of 94. (Photo: AFP)

Mumbai: Mumbai Indians picked up their first victory of their 2018 Indian Premier League (IPL) campaign on Tuesday after securing a comprehensive 46-run victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Wankhede Stadium.

Being put to bat, the defending champions posted a mammoth target of 214 for the visitors to chase riding on Rohit Sharma’s blistering knock of 94.

RCB started the chase on a steady note through Virat Kohli and Quinton de Kock but Mitchell McClenaghan struck with wickets of the southpaw first, followed by his compatriot AB de Villiers.

Just when Mandeep Singh and Virat Kohli were beginning to settle, Krunal Pandya joined the party. The spinner dismissed Mandeep and later Corey Anderson to pile the pressure on the men in red and black.

Kohli was the only hope in the middle and as the required run rate kept creeping up, MI struck with wickets at regular intervals to keep themselves in control of the contest and emerge as winners.  

RCB 137-8 after 18 overs:

WICKET! Off cutter and Woakes is early into his short. Hands Krunal Pandya an easy catch at third man.

RCB 104-6 after 14 overs:

STUMPED! Clever bowling by Markande. Sees Sarfaraz steeping down the track, looking to go big and fools him by bowling wide outside off stump. Tare takes care of the rest.

RCB 87-5 after 12 overs:

WICKET! Krunal ends his spell in style. Bowls a fullish wide delivery which Sundar attempt to chip over extra cover. The youngster mistimes his shot finding Suryakumar at long off.

RCB 76-4 after 10 overs:

TWO IN TWO FOR KRUNAL! Things could change the tale of the match. Krunal Pandya dismisses Mandeep Singh and then Corey Anderson to push the visitors on the backfoot. Pressure on RCB, pressure on Kohli.

RCB 44-2 after 5 overs:

DOUBLE BLOW FOR RCB! McClenaghan strikes with wickets of Quinton de Kock and AB de Villiers to put the hosts in control.

1st innings: Mumbai Indians posted a massive 213-6 after being put to bat by the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.

The defending champions had to deal with a shock in the first over after Umesh Yadav claimed two golden ducks in the form of Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan in the first two deliveries.

Evin Lewis and Rohit Sharma then eased the pressure with a 108-run partnership to shift the pressure back on the opposition.

Corey Anderson dismissed the West Indian but after his departure, skipper Rohit took charge of the innings with a commanding 94-run knock.

MI 213-6 after 20 overs:

WICKET! Rohit's sizzling knock comes to an end. Looks o smash inds Anderson at long on.

MI 192-5 after 19 overs:

WICKET! Pollard perishes. Goes hard at Woakes, finds AB de Villiers at the long on boundary.

MI 151-3 after 15 overs:

RUN OUT! Krunal is displeased. A run completed and Krunal falls short at the non striker's end for the second one despite a dive.

MI 114-3 after 12 overs:

WICKET! Anderson gets the big fish. Slower ball and Lewis aims to go down the ground. Gets the bottom edge of the bat that goes high up in the air and it's caught by de Kock. 

MI 85-2 after 9 overs:

HALF CENTURY! Evin Lewis brings up his first IPL fifty and what a better time to bring it up! MI need more from him.

MI 56-2 after 5 overs:

50 UP! Aggressive batting this from Evin Lewis. Has ensured to capitalize during the power play despite the early blow. Bigger partnership needed along with Rohit Sharma.

MI 3-2 after 1 over:

TWO GOLDEN DUCKS FOR UMESH! The pacer claims two victims in his first over with the new ball.


Mumbai Indians will look to end their winless run in the current Indian Premier League (IPL) edition when they lock horns with Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.

Virat Kohli-led RCB, who have just one win so far this campaign, are also struggling and will look to get back to winning ways.

The defending champions have so far ended up on the losing side but have lost all their three games down to the wire and will aim to get back on track with a bolstering performance.

Also read - IPL 2018: Will Virat Kohli's Royal Challengers further spoil Mumbai Indians' hopes?

Both sides boast of power-packed batting line-ups and the contest at the Mumbai Indians’ fortress promises to be an exciting run fest.

The Paltans, however, have suffered a huge blow for the campaign as they have lost Pat Cummins through injury. Kiwi pacer Adam Milne has been named as his replacement.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Quinton de Kock(w), Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Corey Anderson, Sarfaraz Khan, Washington Sundar, Chris Woakes, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj

Mumbai Indians: Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan(w), Rohit Sharma(c), Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Mustafizur Rahman


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(c), Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis, Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Mayank Markande, Akila Dhananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Brendon McCullum, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Chris Woakes, Washington Sundar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Manan Vohra, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Corey Anderson, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Tim Southee.

When is the match?

The match is scheduled to start at 8 pm IST on Tuesday (April 17)

Where is the match?

The match will take place at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai

Live telecast and timings:

With Star India now acquiring the media rights from Sony Pictures Network India for the upcoming season, the matches will be telecast on various Star Sports channels.

Live streaming:

The matches can be viewed live on or on the Hotstar app.

Tags: live cricket score, mumbai indians, royal challengers bangalore (rcb), ipl 2018, indian premier league (ipl)
Location: India, Maharashtra, Mumbai (Bombay)