Monday, Jul 04, 2022 | Last Update : 12:25 PM IST

  Sports   Cricket  21 Nov 2018  Australia vs India 1st T20: India fall in final hurdle, lose to hosts by 4 runs

Australia vs India 1st T20: India fall in final hurdle, lose to hosts by 4 runs

Published : Nov 21, 2018, 1:18 pm IST
Updated : Nov 21, 2018, 5:49 pm IST

Score after 17 overs, India 169-7, Bhuvneshwar 1*, Kuldeep Yadav 4*; Stanlake 1/27, Behrendorff 1/43, Zampa 2/22.

(Photo: AP)
 (Photo: AP)

Brisbane: India collapsed in the final hurdle as Australia completed a thrilling win to take a 1-0 lead in the first of the three T20Is here at the Gabba on Wednesday.

Needing 13 to win from the final over, Marcus Stoinis dismissed Krunal Pandya (2 runs) and Dinesh Karthik (30) as the hosts scripted a massive comeback.

With Australia having posted 158-4 from 17 overs in the rain-marred game, India were set a target of 174 from 17 overs.

While Shikhar Dhawan’s knock of 76 gave the Men in Blue hope in the earlier stages of the game, Virat Kohli’s tour Down Under got off to a horrific start after having been dismissed for just four runs by Adam Zampa.

However, a 51-run stand between Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant (20) had given the visitors some hope again before the latter was removed by Andrew Tye.

Zampa and Stoinis picked up two wickets each, whereas Jason Behrendorff, Billy Stanlake and Andrew Tye finished with one wick each.

India 156-5 after 15.3 overs

WICKET! Rishabh Pant dismissed for 20 runs by Andrew Tye.

India 105-4 after 11.4 overs

WICKET! Billy Stanlake finally gets a wicket as he dismisses dangerman Shikhar Dhawan for 76

India 94-3 after 10.5 overs

WICKET! Zampa strikes again, sees off Virat Kohli for 4 runs.

India 81-2 after 8.2 overs

STUMPED! Alex Carey does a good job behind the wickets to see off KL Rahul for 13 off Adam Zampa's bowling

India 70-1 after 7.3 overs

FIFTY! Shikhar Dhawan reaches his ninth T20I fifty.

India 35-1 after 4.1 overs

WICKET! Jason Behrendorff strikes as Rohit falls to the hands of captain Aaron Finch

Australia innings

Australia finished their innings at 158-4 from 17 overs after the match was halted for an hour due to rain.

Under the Duckworth Lewis method, the visitors' target is 174 from 17 overs.

Marcus Stoinis remained unbeaten on 33 runs, whereas Chris Lynn (37 runs) also played his part.

Kuldeep Yadav (4/24) had a decent spell but Khaleel Ahmed (1/42) had an expensive one despite dismissing D ' Arcy Short.

Australia 153-4 after 16.2 overs

WICKET! Breakthrough for India as Bumrah sees off Maxwell for 46 runs.

Rain update

The covers are on at the Gabba after heavy drizzles have resulted in play being stopped. India got the start they wanted but things it's been a rough ride for the bowlers in the last few overs, with Australia flexing their muscles. Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis are well set and a will be eyeing something around the 200-mark.

Australia 75-3 after 10.1 overs

KULDEEP GETS HIS REVENGE! Chris Lynn fails to pick the wrong 'un, plays it softly back to the bowler.

Australia 64-2 after 8.3 overs

BIG WICKET! Kuldeep Yadav bamboozles Aaron Finch with the wrong 'un. A miscued edge makes its way towards Khaleel Ahmed at backward point

Australia 24-1 after 4.1 overs

CAUGHT! Khaleel Ahmed strikes on the first ball of his spell, getting rid of the dangerous D'Arcy Short.

Australia 13-0 after 3.1 overs

DROPPED! Jasprit Bumrah pitched it full outside off, making Aaron Finch go for the drive which rips right through Virat Kohli's hands at short cover.


The action that you have been waiting for is finally here. As one of the most anticipated rivalries in international cricket resumes, India start as firm favourites against the embattled Australians in a three-match T20I rubber starting on Wednesday at the Gabba.

The Men in Blue have clinched their previous seven T20I series and would be hoping to extend their dominance in the shortest-format, yet again. India, then led by MS Dhoni had completed a 3-0 clean sweep during their last visit in 2016 and would aim to reign supreme again.

Meanwhile, Australia, who have been undergoing a structural reform in the wake of the ball-tampering scandal against South Africa earlier this year has not been the force to reckon with in the absence of David Warner, Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft.

After being rested against West Indies for the T20s, skipper Virat Kohli returns to the squad and with a strong side at their disposal, the visitors will hope to start the tour on a bright note.

It remains to be seen how Aaron Finch and his men cope up with the pressure as they aim to defy the odds.


Here are both the playing XI's for today -


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Where to watch the matches live?

Live telecast: The matches can be seen live on Sony Six (English commentary) and Sony Ten 3 (Hindi commentary).

Live streaming: It can also be streamed live on Sony LIV, the digital platform on the internet.

Tags: australia vs india, virat kohli, team india, aaron finch, australian cricket team