The sight amused everyone on the field, including the umpire, who walked towards the stumps and placed the bail at its original position.
Mumbai: Bails not dislodging even if the ball has hit the wickets-- the sight is not regarded as an unusual one in recent times. One has seen it happening at domestic as well as the international level.
Meanwhile, former Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar share one such incident when the ball hit the off-stump of a left-handed batsman. The bail came off its groove but did not fall down.
The sight amused everyone on the field, including the umpire, who walked towards the stumps and placed the bail at its original position. Moreover, the batsman was not declared out, leaving the fielding side disappointed.
Tendulkar took to Twitter and asked fans for their opinion. “A friend shared this video with me. Found it very unusual! What would your decision be if you were the umpire?” tweeted Tendulkar along with the video of the incident.
A friend shared this video with me.— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) July 24, 2019
Found it very unusual!
What would your decision be if you were the umpire? 🤔 pic.twitter.com/tJCtykEDL9
After many reactions to the video, fans used it to troll umpire Dharmasena for his “error” during the World Cup 2019 final and also made hilarious memes out of it.
He know how to handle such situations,,,👍🏏🤔 pic.twitter.com/4TYJr2szTV— Vineeth Menon (@Vineeth_Menon93) July 24, 2019
If dharmasena was there it definitely out— Rajan (@Rajan_hotSpur) July 24, 2019
If simon taufel was there it definitely not out!!#ICCRules
This guy literally screwed NZ team by his decision— shivraj (@shiv_9668) July 24, 2019
The rule 29.1.1 states that “the wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps, or a stump is struck out of the ground. 29.1.2 The disturbance of a bail, whether temporary or not, shall not constitute its complete removal from the top of the stumps, but if a bail in falling lodges between two of the stumps this shall be regarded as complete removal.
29.2 One bail off If one bail is off, it shall be sufficient for the purpose of putting the wicket down to remove the remaining bail or to strike or pull any of the three stumps out of the ground, in any of the ways stated in 29.1.