Thursday, May 19, 2022 | Last Update : 11:35 PM IST

  Sports   In Other sports  25 Jan 2017  Sindhu, Sakshi and Dhoni in line for Padma honours

Sindhu, Sakshi and Dhoni in line for Padma honours

Published : Jan 25, 2017, 10:37 am IST
Updated : Jan 25, 2017, 10:52 am IST

The prestigious Padma awards will feature Olympic medallists PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik, Paralympic medallist Deepa Malik and MS Dhoni

(Clockwise) P.V. Sindhu, MS Dhoni, Sakshi Malik and Deepa Malik. (Photo: AFP/PTI)
 (Clockwise) P.V. Sindhu, MS Dhoni, Sakshi Malik and Deepa Malik. (Photo: AFP/PTI)

Mumbai: Olympics medallists PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik, Paralympics medallist Deepa Malik and former India cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni are set to be honoured with the Padma awards on the eve of India’s Republic Day.

Sindhu's coach Pullela Gopichand will also be receiving the award.


Dhoni led Team India to the top of the world rankings in Test cricket, and also led the side to victory in the 2007 ICC World T20, the 2011 World Cup and the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. The 35-year-old had already retired from Test cricket in 2014, and was functioning as India’s limited overs skipper till last year. However, he relinquished his limited overs captaincy at the turn of the calendar year.

Read: Eden stand named after Ganguly, Dhoni feted

PV Sindhu capped off a brilliant year in 2016, winning the Malasian Grand Prix Gold tournament, and then going on to clinch a silver medal in the women’s singles event at the Rio Olympics. She is now playing in the Syed Modi Grand Prix, which is currently going on in Lucknow.


Sakshi Malik and Deepa Malik created history last year, as the former became the first Indian woman to win a medal in wrestling in the Olympics, while the latter became the first female Paralympics medallist for India, last year.

The Padma awards were started in 1954, to felicitate Indians, who have excelled in different fields – arts, literature, sports, social work, medicine, science, civil service, and others.

Read: Saina opts out, Sindhu eyes Syed Modi GP title

The three categories of Padma awards that are doled out are Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri, in descending order. MS Dhoni has already been conferred with the Padma Shri award in 2009.


Tags: ms dhoni, sakshi malik, pv sindhu, padma bhushan awardee, deepa malik
Location: India, Maharashtra, Mumbai (Bombay)